full screen background image


Most Reverend John Baptist Attakruh has announced the creation of three new deaneries in the Catholic Diocese of Sekondi-Takoradi. This brings  the total number of Deaneries in the diocese to ten.

The announcement was contained in a circular addressed to the “Clergy, Religious and Christ’s faithful of the diocese.”

According to Bishop Attakruh, “the restructuring of the deaneries is necessitated by the need to ease travelling and facilitate frequent meetings of priests and church societies within the deaneries.”

The newly created deaneries are;

Wasa Akropong Deanery
Prestea Deanery
Shama Deanery

A deanery in the Catholic Church is an ecclesiastical entity comprising of a number of neighboring Parishes. It is headed by a dean – a priest appointed “by the bishop after consultation with the priests exercising ministry in the deanery.” (Canon 553)

Details of the restructuring is available in the document below.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?
Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab


Source: catholicinformer.com

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.