full screen background image

SIGNIS Africa to host webinar for 70th anniversary of Radio Vatican broadcasts in Africa

Catholic communicators in Africa are invited to take part in the webinar “Story-telling as a tool to manage racial and social tribulations in Africa” hosted by SIGNIS Africa on July 17, 2020.

The year 1950 marked a milestone in the life of Vatican Radio as the station began broadcasts in English towards the African continent. Today, the voice of the Pope continues to be heard in the homes of many African families with the soothing tones of the good shepherd, giving encouragement and hope and most importantly inviting all human beings to build an interconnected world.

Likewise, Catholic communicators have the duty of not only reporting social events but also of helping society to chart the pathway for a better future.

To celebrate this legacy, SIGNIS Africa will host a webinar on the theme “Story-telling as a tool to manage racial and social tribulations in Africa”, using insights from Pope Francis’ message for the 54th World Communications Day to stimulate the minds of Catholic communicators and help build a vibrant continent that promotes wellbeing and social inclusiveness.

Speakers include Paolo Ruffini, Prefect of the Dicastery for Communication, Bishop Emmanuel A. Badejo, President of CEPACS-SECAM, and Rev. Fr. Federico Lombardi S.J., former Director of Vatican Radio and the Vatican Press Office, Sheila Pires, correspondent for Vatican Radio Africa Service, Rev. Mother Mary Claude Oguh IHM, President of the Nigerian Conference of Women Religious, Father Paul Samasumo, Vice President of SIGNIS Africa and Father Walter Ihejirika, President of SIGNIS Africa.

The webinar will take place through WebEx and YouTube on July 17, 2020, at 2 pm South Africa, 3 pm Kenya, 1 pm Nigeria, and 12 pm Ghana. To register, please send your name, country and telephone number to savreas2020@gmail.com.

Source: SIGNIS 

Share this



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× Whatsapp chat